Dawn on the Road Advert

Friday, December 12, 2014

Book Spotlight: Back to Christmas


Back to Christmas 

Dennis Canfield

Note from The Happy Book Reviewer: Check out this penguin! This is the cutest cover ever... I'm sold!




ISBN 978-0-615-88912-2
ASIN: B00C41C81C
BN ID: 2940148877301
Genre: Historical Fiction

Is the Krumwerth family doomed to go onto the Permanent Naughty List?  Marmel the elf thinks so, and he should know. After all, he has one hundred and seven Christmases of experience in these matters. Amanda Krumwerth has just two days to prove Marmel wrong about her family, but she's determined to do it.
With Santa, Reverse Santa, elves, penguins, and a family that needs to remember the meaning of family, Back to Christmas is a story that children and their parents and grandparents will love reading together. 

Buy the book:
- Nook


“Sometimes, crazy is exactly what we need.”
--from Back to Christmas

About the Author

Author Website            Facebook             

Dennis and his wife and their two daughters live in Western Springs, Illinois. He is a graduate of the University of Illinois College of Commerce, and the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University.

Dennis first become interested in writing because of his daughters' involvement in the local theater. "My older daughter played 'Wendy' in Peter Pan, and the theater needed someone to 'fly' her (that is, pull the rope to make her fly above the stage). That was my first ever experience in theater, and I loved it. But I can't act or sing or dance, and I'm not handy, so if I'm going to have any more connection to theater, I'm going to have to write plays. Or maybe pass out programs." 

Dennis has written two Christmas stories: "Silent Night A Christmas Story," and "Back to Christmas." He has also written the book and lyrics for a stage musical based on "Back to Christmas."

Twitter: @backtochristmas

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Book Spotlight: Get on Board Little Children


Get on Board Little Children 
~Children in Hiding Book 1~
Victoria Randall



ASIN:  B00DAP2TZQ
Genre: Historical Fiction
In a future marked by high-tech surveillance, an unlicensed pregnancy is a felony. It can lead to loss of the child as well as devastating fines and imprisonment. Targeted by the corrupt population-control police, Sophie must make a painful decision. She can submit to the state's harsh demands. Or she can go on the run, relying on the conductors of the revived Underground Railway. Confronted with deception and violence, she must learn to trust her instincts. If she hesitates she risks the loss of everything she values most. 

Fast-paced dystopian thriller, GET ON BOARD LITTLE CHILDREN takes the heroine from the drone-watched streets of Seattle to the dangerous Tijuana border, while exploring a future that may be closer than we imagine.


“In spite of Sophie’s exhaustion, her sleep was restless and broken. Dark figures moved around her, a sharp-toothed creature bared fangs and bit her arm, a tree reached down gnarled branches that coiled around her, lifting and carrying her away. She cried out for her husband, but he was not there. Her father tried to sooth her, but he melted away, replaced by Rivas’ stony features staring down at her, until his eyebrows crawled off his face and turned into black moths that fluttered away.”
--from Get on Board Little Children

About the Author

Blog 
Victoria Randall lives in Seattle, where she works as a case manager. A graduate of Oberlin College, she is the author of The Ring of the Dark Elves, published in 2003, and the Children in Hiding series. She believes in the power of story, especially science fiction and fantasy, to help us appreciate the textures of our own reality and create new visions for our lives.

* * * *

And don't forget to check out my latest book, 
Deep Green, 
available in Print & e-Book 


* * * *

Tuesday, December 9, 2014

Launch Day Spotlight: Fragile Reign

Fragile Reign Release Day
I'm glad to take part in Stacey O'Neale's release day launch for FRAGILE REIGN! Check out the book below and be sure to enter the amazing giveaway!
Fragile Reign by Stacey O'Neale
It’s been a week since all hell broke loose… Rumors of King Taron’s weakened powers have left the air court vulnerable. Kalin is desperate to awaken her akasha powers, except she doesn’t know how. Tension within the court is at an all-time high. Pressure is mounting for her to ascend to the throne, but a halfling has never ruled over any court. To solidify her position, the council has advised her to marry Sebastian—a high ranking air elemental she’s never met and her betrothed. Will Kalin sacrifice her relationship with Rowan to strengthen her court? Rowan and Marcus return to a fire court in turmoil. Liana’s death has fueled the fire elementals’ distrust against the air and woodland courts. The unbalanced elements have set off natural disasters all over the mortal world. Rowan takes the throne to restore balance, promising to unite the fire court. But not all elementals are happy with his leadership. Many are secretly loyal to Valac, which means Rowan needs to find allies for his cause. Can Rowan unify the court of fire before the elements destroy the world? Goodreads | Amazon

If you haven't read Stacey's Mortal Enchantment series, you can get the first book for FREE on Amazon and Barnes & Noble! The Shadow Prince won GOLD at the 2014 Readers' Favorite Book Awards in the Short Story/Novella category!

MESFBCover.v3

Excerpt from FRAGILE REIGN

Rowan
After Marcus left, the lack of sleep and overuse of my power had finally caught up to me. My lids were heavy, making it hard to keep my eyes open. I laid down on the nearest bed, sinking into the softness of the vanilla scented pillows. I could rest here until tomorrow, and then meet Kalin on the beach at sundown. As I closed my eyes, I imagined her in that sexy sundress with the ocean breeze wafting through her red curls. My lips tingled remembering the raspberry taste of her kisses. With all this craziness going on, she was the one thing that made sense. The only person who could make me forget about everything for a little while. Kalin was the one I wanted. The only one I needed. I shook my head. What was wrong with me? It was too soon to be thinking about this stuff, right? It had only been a few weeks. And what did I know about real feelings, anyway? Had it not been for Marcus, I would never even know what it felt like to care for someone. Love was never part of my life. My mother thought love was a weakness—a totally worthless emotion compared to power and control. But that still didn’t explain how I was feeling. Why everything seemed better when Kalin was around. Why my fingers ached to touch her. Why her pain shattered me to the core. I put my hands over my face. Or, maybe the lack of sleep was making me delusional. With a smirk, I gave in to the darkness that was overwhelming me and fell asleep.

Stacey O'NealeAbout the Author

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Goodreads
Stacey O'Neale lives in Annapolis, Maryland. When she's not writing, she spends her time fangirling over books, blogging, watching fantasy television shows, cheering for the Baltimore Ravens, and hanging out with her husband and daughter. Her career in publishing started as a blogger-turned-publicist for two successful small publishers. Stacey writes young adult paranormal romance and adult science fiction romance. Her books always include swoon-worthy heroes, snarky heroines, and lots of kissing. Stacey loves hearing from readers. Follow her on Twitter @StaceyONeale, look for her on Facebook, Pinterest, and GoodReads. You can also visit her blog at http://staceyoneale.com/.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, November 10, 2014

New Release Spotlight: The Broken Destiny, by Carlyle Labuschagne


The Broken Destiny
by 
Carlyle Labuschagne
Publisher: Fire Quill Publishing (SA)
                    Hallowed Ink Press (USA)
Release Date: November 2014
ISBN:
97809922446208


Her Destiny is to rise above her fall.

You cannot know what light is, if you have not experienced darkness.

Ava and her people have been exiled to the planet Poseidon for reasons she can’t fathom.

Upon meeting a boy from a different sector, her life turns into beautiful chaos. She begins to feel things she isn’t allowed to, this motivating her to find out the truth about why her kind are so different, and why the Council are so interested in her.

Once her mind is freed, with it comes a terrible power that could either save her kind, or destroy them all.

But Eva is not the perfect heroine. She will become what she hates to save the ones she loves, and the cost of such a burden is deadly at best.




Excerpt


“What’s so damn funny?” I asked her, almost panicking that someone would notice we had disregarded our curfew yet again.

We slowed down as we rose to a low crouch, the tunnel opening up to a small entrance. Sam held out her hands, her fingers laced together. I gingerly slid a foot into them as she pushed me up toward the small tunnel entrance at the base of a huge, silverwood tree. We had accidentally found the entrance while playing hide and seek when we were kids. It had become our secret hideaway since then. We visited our hideaway almost every afternoon to get away from the severity that school held for me.

I couldn’t help but wonder if I would still have been treated as an outsider, had my grandfather not been our founder. I thought they all held a grudge against me for our existence. 

Experiments―that’s all we were to the Council. As I pulled Sam through from the other side, a faint light from behind her caused a long shadow to hide her expression, but by the easy set of her shoulders, I could tell that she was still smiling.

“What is it with you? I asked her, somewhat irritated.

She stroked her chin. “I can hear Sonja right now,” she said. “You just do whatever you want, don’t you?” she mimicked, her finger waving in front of my face, her head bouncing from side to side.

“She’ll be furious,” I said. “We’ll get detention for this, or worse. We’ll be imprisoned for the weekend.” I rolled my eyes.

“Oh, no! I don’t want to have to stay indoors and stare at her pudgy face the whole weekend, when I could be staring into Fran├žois’ hazel eyes instead,” Sam said with a smirk on her face, her eyes sparkling.

“I knew it! You kept it from me, you cow!” I shouted, punching her on the arm full force, making her take a step back.


“Let’s go,” Sam whined, rubbing her arm. “Stop procrastinating. I don’t want to go back any more than you do,” she added irritably, heading for the path between the overgrown bushes.


About the Author

Carlyle Labuschagne is a South African award-winning author working her way into the hearts of international readers with her first two books in the Broken Trilogy. Her first YA Dystopian novel “The Broken Destiny” reached top 3 in its YA Debut Category. The Sequel Evanescent won YATR literary award for best Sci-Fi Book of 2013 and was nominated for IRC best Indie Novel and Indie cover award 2014. “My goal as an author is to touch people’s lives, and help others love their differences and one another.”

She is not only an author, but works as a marketing manager by day. She holds a diploma in  creative writing through the writing school at College SA. 

Carlyle loves to swim, fight for the trees, and is a food lover who is driven by her passion for life - her nemesis- housework!

Carlyle also writes for IU e-magazine India, an inspirational non-profit magazine that aims at inspiring the world through words. The drive behind her author career is ‘healing through words.’


Find out more about The Broken Destiny at:


Giveaway

Swag
1 signed copy of The Broken Destiny
1 custom made t-shirt
1 custom made Book mark
1 custom made book bag
5 Digital copies of The Broken Destiny


a Rafflecopter giveaway


And check out my latest book, Deep Green, by clicking below!


Thursday, November 6, 2014

Release Day Spotlight: MELT by Selene Castrovilla

Happy Book Birthday to Selene Castrovilla's MELT! 

Check out the book's details and teaser, and be sure to enter the giveaway below!
MELT by Selene Castrovilla
MELT is a brutal love story set against the metaphorical backdrop of The Wizard of Oz (not a retelling). When sixteen year old Dorothy moves to the small town of Highland Park, she meets, and falls for Joey – a “bad boy” who tells no one about the catastrophic domestic violence he witnesses at home. Can these two lovers survive peer pressure, Joey’s reputation, and his alcoholism? Told in dual first person, Joey's words are scattered on the page - reflecting his broken state. Dorothy is the voice of reason - until something so shattering happens that she, too, may lose her grip. Can their love endure, or will it melt away? MELT is based on true events. It is both a chilling tale of abuse, and a timeless romance. It will hit you like a punch in the face, and also seep through the cracks in your soul.

#MELTdown

For the past month leading up to the release of MELT, Selene Castrovilla has shared a fantastic MELTdown post every day on her blog! In these posts she's shared tidbits of "insider information” about MELT: its content, its inspiration and her writing process... including excerpts! The first post is HERE, and you use the post navigation at the bottom of the page to click through and read them. Enjoy!

Join us for MELT's Online Launch Party!

MELT Online Launch Party You’ve invited to celebrate the release of Selene Castrovilla’s MELT at her Facebook Launch Party on November 9, 2014. The party will be from 5:00 – 11:00 PM EST, so we hope you’ll stop by! There will be prizes, and very special guests: Beth Fehlbaum, Gae Polisner, Cassie Shine, and Kathy Cannon Weichman. We hope to see you there!

[RSVP Here]

 

Selene CastrovillaAbout the Author

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Tumblr | Goodreads
Selene Castrovilla is an award-winning teen and children’s author who believes that through all trends, humanity remains at the core of literature. She is the author of Saved By the Music and The Girl Next Door, teen novels originally published by WestSide Books and now available digitally through ASD Publishing. Her third children’s book with Calkins Creek Books, Revolutionary Friends, was released in April 2013. She is also a contributing author to UncommonYA. Selene holds an MFA in creative writing from New School University and a BA in English from New York University. She lives on Long Island with her two sons. Visit her website www.SeleneCastrovilla.com for book excerpts and more information!

Giveaway




And don't forget to check out my latest book, 
Deep Green, 
available in Print & e-Book 





Monday, October 20, 2014

Interview: Mary Elizabeth Summer


Interview with
Mary Elizabeth Summer,
author of 
Trust Me, I'm Lying


"Gotta strike while the irony's hot."
--Trust Me, I'm Lying


I’m pleased to welcome Mary Elizabeth Summer, author of the YA debut Trust Me, I’m Lying, to The Happy Book Reviewer!

In the aptly-titled Trust Me, I’m Lying, main character Julep Dupree tells lies. A lot of them. She’s a con artist, a master of disguise, and a sophomore at Chicago’s swanky St. Agatha High. For extra spending money, Julep runs petty scams for her classmates while dodging the dean of students. But when she comes home one day to a ransacked apartment and her father gone, Julep’s carefully laid plans for an expenses-paid golden ticket to Yale start to unravel. She enlists help from St. Agatha’s resident Prince Charming and her loyal hacker sidekick. But Julep struggles to trace her dad’s trail of clues through a maze of creepy stalkers, hit attempts, family secrets, and worse, the threat of foster care. Julep Depree’s in way over her head . . . but that’s not going to stop her from using every trick in the book to find her dad before his mark finds her.


You’ve said you enjoy contributing to “the delinquency of minors by writing books about unruly teenagers with criminal tendencies.” I can’t help but ask what kind of teenager were you?? (And would your mother agree?)

Mary Elizabeth Summer: I was pretty much the opposite of Julep. I was shy and bookish, and I worried too much about getting in trouble and what other people thought. The worst thing I ever did was lose my passport while sleeping on a beach in Israel and then lie to my mother about how it happened. But even then, she caught me lying immediately. (I'm like George Washington--I literally cannot tell a lie.) But I loved the opportunity to get into Julep's head and see how the other half lives, the people who have the world all figured out and can manipulate it to suit their purposes. It's heady stuff. 


Is it more fun writing about bad boys and bad girls than upstanding citizens?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: The short answer is: Yes, absolutely. The longer answer is: There's so much room for exploring internal conflict when writing about bad kids. Why are they the way they are? Is what they're doing really all that bad, or are there shades of grey between rule-breaking and hurting people? What if being "bad" is actually allowing them to experience first hand where their line is? What goes into their decision about whether or not to cross that line? What happens when they do--what (and who) do they leave behind? And if they don't cross their line, how do they deal with the darkness that tempted them?

I think teens have the best of all possible worlds. They have freedom to explore themselves without a lot of the constraints adults are shackled by. But they also have a lot of power once they decide to take it. What they do with that power shows (and influences) the kind of people they are. There are endless possibilities, bottomless fathoms to plumb. Who wouldn't want to write about it? And as for the bad kids, well, sometimes it takes a bad person to take down an even worse one.

This is your first published novel. Did you find writing the book or finding a publisher to be the hard part?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: Honestly, all the parts were both hard and easy. I wrote the book like I was running down a hill, but that doesn't mean I didn't trip and fall during the drafting. It had its frustrating moments, but it was mostly easy. Then I found an agent a lot faster than I meant to (long story). Then the submission process (i.e., finding a publisher) was about average in terms of time and level of difficulty. I think the hardest (and most rewarding) part of it all has been this debut year, trying to write book 2 while working toward book 1 coming out. It's such a huge learning curve, being a first-time author. But I've had such tremendous support along the way that I really feel like my debut experience was charmed from the start.


So what advice would you give to someone just starting out as a writer?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: As far as advice goes, I say write. Write like you can't live a day without it, because you really can't. The bells and whistles that come with publishing and sharing your work are great, but when there are rejections and setbacks and delays and disappointments (and there will be! there will be lots!), writing will get you through. I can't stress this enough. On the days I felt most down, writing was the only thing that made me feel better. It's more effective than chocolate, and I don't say that lightly.

If a high school class were reading Trust Me, I’m Lying some day, what themes would the teacher want the students to pick up on? Or would the book be more likely to be banned from the curriculum?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: Identity and self-actualization for sure. There are several references to The Adventures of Pinocchio in the book, and Julep says at one point that she wants to be a "real girl." The question in my head as I was writing the book was, 'When you can be anybody, how do you know who you are?' And to me that's Julep's greatest struggle--trying to figure out how to be herself. But there's also a multi-character father-child relationship theme that snuck in there somehow. And of course the theme of 'what is bad, really?' I can imagine teachers forming discussions around a lot of issues mentioned in the book as well--foster care, abandonment, etc.--and, honestly, they're all smarter than me, so they may pick up on things I didn't even know were there.

As for potential banning, I doubt book 1 would ever be banned. Book 2, on the other hand...


So Julep Depree is getting a sequel? 

Mary Elizabeth Summer: Yes! There's definitely a book 2, and possibly a book 3. I'm copyediting book 2 now. And then I'll start outlining a proposal for book 3. And then I'll get to work on my super secret shiny new project that I've been dying to start on. But I can't tell you about it, because it isn't totally a thing yet. I'll tell you this, though: it's code name is Razor*. (*Note: I'm the only one who calls it this, so I'm not sure it really counts as a "code.")

You studied writing in school, but thinking further back, what was the first creative piece you ever wrote? Do you still have a copy of it?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: My first creative piece was a series of short stories I wrote as part of ongoing weekly spelling assignments in fifth or sixth grade. It featured the continuing, hilarious adventures of my little brother, and was comprised of as many of the weekly spelling words as I could cram in (not just the three that were required). Sadly, the stories are lost to the annals of time, but the writing addiction I acquired while penning (or rather penciling) the stories is with me to this day.


Tell us about your blog tour, book launch party (online or in real life), author chat plans, or anything else around your release date in October? If so, how can readers be involved?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: I'm doing all of the above! Blogs (not unlike this wonderful blog) will be featuring interviews and guest posts about characters, writing process, book snippets and who knows what else. I'll have all the details up on my own blog at www.mesummer.com. I'll also have a Facebook launch party on October 14th at my Facebook page (www.facebook.com/MaryElizabethSummer). There will be prizes, games, and surprise guests, so it's well worth stopping by throughout the day. On top of all that, I'll have a real-life launch party on Thursday, October 16th at Powell's Bookstore (the Cedar Hills Crossing location) with more prizes, a reading, Q&A, book signing, yummy snacks, etc. Everyone's invited, so bring all your friends. 


Anyone who knows me knows I collect book quotes. So, add to my collection! What is a favorite line from Trust Me, I’m Lying?

Mary Elizabeth Summer: Ooo, this one's tricky. There are several zingers I'm rather fond of. Hmmm. I'll go with: "Gotta strike while the irony's hot."




* * * *
And check out my latest Young Adult adventure/romance, 
Deep Green, 
available in Print & e-Book
*25% off with the promo code 20EPdb14

* * * *

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Cover Reveal: Molly Pepper & the Night Train

MollyPepper&NTcover_crop-01The Happy Book Reviewer is happy to help reveal the cover for MOLLY PEPPER AND THE NIGHT TRAIN by Courtney King Walker! Check out the cover below, and be sure to let us know what you think in the comments.

MOLLY PEPPER AND THE NIGHT TRAIN by Courtney King Walker | Lands Atlantic Publishing Release Date: March 13, 2015

Hidden somewhere in the fog of the San Francisco bay lies Blue Rock Island, home to the bay area’s two best-kept secrets: Bell’s Bluff, the old, abandoned prison on one side of the island, and the Night Train, a mysterious train ride on the other. When twelve-year-old Molly Pepper receives a secret invitation promising a night of magic and adventure aboard the Night Train, she is skeptical. In her experience, most promises prove too good to be true. The fact that she lost her mom is proof enough. Still, Molly gives hope another chance. Together with her loyal friend, Noah Wonderly, they sneak out of the house and follow a string of clues leading to the Night Train. But when the train stops at Bell's Bluff, Molly discovers the real reason she was invited. There, she starts to wonder if hope and magic not only fix broken promises; but make you believe in them again.
Add Java Man to your Goodreads TBR!

What do you think of the cover?

CourtneyKingWalker_WEBAbout the Author

Website | Twitter | Goodreads
Courtney King Walker grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area building rocket ships and rafts out of cardboard, hoping to make it the moon or at least Niagara Falls. But a trip across the border to Tijuana was as exciting as it ever got, so she decided writing about adventure was the next best thing. She now lives in the Rocky Mountains with her husband and four children, and still dreams of flying to the moon. Her YA debut, ON THE FRINGE, was published in 2011 by Lands Atlantic Publishing.

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, September 12, 2014

Book Spotlight: The First Blast of the Trumpet



The First Blast of the Trumpet 
(Book One of the Knox Trilogy)
Marie Macpherson

Knox Robinson Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-908483-21-8
ISBN: 978-1-908483-22-5
Genre: Historical Fiction
Hailes Castle, Haddingtonshire, Scotland, 1511
Midnight on a doom-laden Hallowe’en and Elisabeth Hepburn, feisty daughter of the Earl of Bothwell, makes a wish to wed her lover but her uncle has other plans. To safeguard Hepburn family interests, she is to become a nun and succeed her aunt as Prioress of the wealthy St. Mary’s Abbey. Plunged into the political maelstrom and religious turmoil of the early Scottish Reformation however, her life in the nunnery is hardly one of quiet contemplation.

Strong-willed and independent, Elisabeth clashes with those who question her unorthodox regime at St. Mary’s, including the notorious Cardinal Beaton, but her greatest struggle is against her stubborn godson, John Knox. Witnessing his rejection of the Roman Catholic Church she despairs that the sins of her past may have contributed to his present disenchantment. Will confessing her dark secrets steer Knox from the pernicious pull of Protestantism or drive him further down the fateful path that may lead to burning at the stake?

As he purges himself from the ‘puddle of papistry’ Knox finds his voice, denouncing everything he once held dear, but will that include his godmother, Prioress Elisabeth?

In a daring attempt to shed light on a when of unanswered questions about the iconoclastic Reformer’s early, undocumented life, this novel throws up some startling claims and controversial conjectures.


"There’s no rhyme nor reason to it. Your destiny is already laid doon." 

--from The First Blast of the Trumpet

About the Author

Blog | YouTube | Goodreads | Know Robinson Publishing
Marie Macpherson was born in Musselburgh, six miles from the Scottish capital, Edinburgh. After gaining an Honours Degree in Russian and English, she spent a year in Moscow and Leningrad to research her PhD thesis on the work of the 19th century Russian writer, Lermontov, said to be descended from the Scottish poet and seer, Thomas the Rhymer.

The rich history of East Lothian - especially the Reformation period - provides the inspiration for her first fictional work, based on the early life of the Scottish reformer, John Knox.

Prizes and awards include the Martha Hamilton Prize for Creative Writing from Edinburgh University and 'Writer of the Year 2011' title awarded by Tyne & Esk Writers. She is a member of the Historical Writers' Association and the Historical Novel Society.

Her debut novel, The First Blast of the Trumpet, is a fictional account of the early, undocumented life of John Knox and speculates about his relationship with Elisabeth Hepburn, Prioress of St. Mary’s Abbey, Haddington, and Sir David Lindsay of the Mount and Garleton, poet and playwright. She is currently working on the second book of the trilogy, The Second Blast of the Trumpet.

* * * *

And don't forget to check out my latest book, 
Deep Green, 
available in Print & e-Book 


* * * *

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Guest Post: Awesome Powers

Awesome Powers

Guest Post by 

Rebecca Gober & Courtney Nuckels,

authors of the ELE Series


If you had the power to choose any power you would want, which power would that be? In The ELE Series, the characters didn't get to choose the powers they would develop. Instead, someone decided for them. The fact remains though, that in a future world years after Project ELE ends, citizens might very well have the ability to choose their own power. How would you choose? Based on a power that would work best for your personality? Perhaps even based on your preferred eye color? Below you will find the author's personal choices. We encourage you to comment on this blog post to share with us what choice you would make. 

Rebecca Gober- I would choose gold- the power of telekinesis. How could would it be to be able to pick up objects or even people with your own mind. Or throw a tantrum and rip a tree up out of the ground and hurl it against a wall. (I don't condone the senseless abuse of trees, but the act would make for quite a dramatic show.) Now, if I were to choose my eye color based on vanity alone, I'd pick purple eyes. Gold eyes are cool, but I've always thought purple eyes would be neat to have. 

Courtney Nuckels- I would choose dark blue- the power to heal. Having dealt with my own personal health battles and seeing loved ones around me that go through similar battles, I'd want to be able to have the ability to heal them. I have a passion for helping others and this ability would work perfectly with my passion. If I did get to choose a color based on vanity only, I'd pick purple. Now Rebecca, get out of my head! (If you haven't seen many of our other posts, we tend to have a very similar mind set, which of course makes us great writing partners. So it really doesn't surprise me that she picked the same color.) 

Check out the below eye color chart and comment with your choice and why! 

Where can readers check us out?

Twitter: MidniteBeckie and NuckelsC


The ELE Series

by Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels

Available Now Through: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iBookStore and Smashwords

Millions have already died, and thousands more are perishing daily. As a last ditch effort to preserve the human race, the government implements Project ELE. With the earth heating at rapid speeds, all remaining survivors are forced to turn to F.E.M.A. shelters to wait out ELE's wrath.

Fifteen-year-old Willow Mosby's life, as she knows it, ends the moment she walks through the shelter's door. Willow has to quickly adapt to the new challenges that shelter life demands, which includes making new friends and working a full time job.

Soon after making an interesting discovery, Willow and her friends start exhibiting strange abilities. Seeking answers, they embark on a mission to find out what these new abilities mean and whether they are a gift or a curse.

This new adventure can send her world crashing down around her. The question is: Can Willow survive the fall?

From the best selling authors of Night Marchers comes a new apocalyptic series with a paranormal twist.



About Rebecca Gober and Courtney Nuckels:


Rebecca and Courtney are downhome country girls powered by chocolate and other random late night cravings. Coined in southern twang they bring new meaning to the word y'all. BFI's since the 6th grade, with a knack for getting into sticky situations, has resulted in countless ideas to write about for years to come.






* * * *
Don't forget to check out my latest YA adventure/romance, 
Deep Green, 
available in Print & e-Book

*25% off with the promo code 20EPdb14

* * * *